19 July 2016 – With less than 50 days to go to the start of the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games, it was announced today that a 45-member strong team will be heading for Brazil.

The group, consisting of athletes competing in 10 different sports codes, is scheduled to depart for the Games at the end of August and is said to be a healthy mix of new and more experienced competitors.

“Our Paralympians have always done us proud and South Africa has a track record of excellent results evidenced by obtaining a total of 29 medals at the London 2012 Games. I have no doubt that this team will do even better in Rio,” said SASCOC CEO, Tubby Reddy. He added that the final decision was a difficult one but, since 90% of the 40 plus athletes selected are ranked under the top three in the world in their respective divisions, there is no reason that the team should not perform well.

As in 2012, Athletics will again have the strongest representation with 19 athletes chosen to fly the flag. This is followed by swimming and cycling that features six competitors each.

The full team is as follows:

Alani Ferreira, Emily Gray, Shireen Sapiro, Achmat Hassiem, Hendri Herbst, Kevin
PaulManager/Coach: Karin Hugo, Delon Dannhauser, Theo Verster

Shaun Anderson
Manager/Coach: Barbara Manning

Ilse Carstens, Louzanne Coetzee, Liezel Gouws, Anrune Liebenberg, Zandile Nhlapo, Zanele Situ, Chenelle Van Zyl, Dyan Buis, Charl Du Toit, Arnu Fourie, Reinhardt Hamman, Hilton Langenhoven, Ntando Mahlangu, Mpumelelo Mhlongo, Jonathan Ntutu, Tyrone Pillay, Union Sekailwe, Fanie Van Der Merwe, Ernst van Dyk, Khothatso Mokone (Guide)
Manager/Coach: Suzanne Ferreira, Karin Le Roux, Daniel Damon, Raymond Julius, Neels Matthyser

Graham Paull
Manager/Coach: Fouche Van Tonder

Ernst Van Dyk, Craig Ridgard, Goldy Fuchs, Justine Asher, Roxanne Burns, Dane Wilson
Manager/Coach: Pieter Jansen (Mechanic), Elrick Kulsen, JC Van der Walt

Philippa Johnson, Mieke Wirix (Groom)
Manager/Coach: Christiaan Haazen

Chantelle Stierman
Manager/Coach: Andrew Ludik

Lucy Perold, Sandra Khumalo, Shannon Murray, Dylan Trollope, Dieter Rosslee, Willie Morgan (Coxwain)
Manager/Coach: Marco Galeone

Von Zeuner Kohne
Manager/Coach: Alexis Volschenk

Wheelchair tennis
KG Montjane, Leon Els, Lucas Sithole, Evans Maripa
Manager/Coach: Khotso Matshego, Holger Losch

Medical team
Chief Medical Doctor: Dr. Phathokuhle Zondi
Doctor: Dr. Carolette Cloete
Chief Physiotherapist: Bafana Sihlali
Physiotherapists: Tarina Van der Stockt, Khuliso Netshvangani, Narayani Pillay and Tanya Green