Let us not say that this is the strongest team from all the provinces competing at the SA champs…. but this is probably the strongest team that will compete at SA Champs!! Too many to mention them all, but there are definitely quite a few names to have a look at.

Leading the 6 man 10km field will be CGA champ Philimon Mathiba and not a bad team following him including the ever so present Pharson Magagane and Prince Jali. Derocious Makhobalo always seems to find himself in the mix and the battle between AGN and CGA on the 10km looks to be swaying in the favour of CGA this year. The biggest surprise however is that Precious Mashele is not included in the team as his aim was to represent CGA this year, now the question begs will AGN include him after winning the AGN champs as well?

Cornelia Youbert, Keneilwe Sesing and Lorraine Novela leads a stellar field for CGA in the 10km for ladies as well whereas the senior and u/23 women’s fields include the likes of Anet Coetzee (the only non Nedbank athletes in the senior women category) Michelle Strydom, Thandi Sehohle and Farida Zwane.

The mens 4km probably has the most depth in the CGA team. Where does one even begin? Perhaps by just naming them… Paulos Radebe, Marko Bucarizza, Jeromy Andreas, Jacob Malefo, Clinton Swanepoel, Samuel Mathabatha, Tumisang Monnatlala, Henry Makane… A team to be reckoned with.

The junior men 8km team will be spearheaded by the two Kabelo’s, that is Seboko and Melamu. Melamu fresh from setting a new 10 000m personal best at the World junior championships and Seboko the CGA champ. They will lead out a team including Ryan Mphalele and Ikageng Goarekwe(the 2015 champ). Perhaps it’s worth mentioning that most likely SA champ for u/17 girls, Simonay Weitsz, is also in this team… But hey, who’s counting?