The newly launched Athletics South Africa (ASA) Speed Series campaign was launched to give relay and distance athletes platforms to prepare for the IAAF World Relay Championships and World Cross Country Championships that takes place in the first half of the South African athletics season. The series that was launched in early February will kick off at Durban’s Kingspark Stadium on 28 February 2017.

Durban’s newly-renovated Kings Park Athletics Stadium will play host to the first leg of ASA’s Speed Series that kicks off on 28 February 2017. The series that was originally designed to be used as a build up for the IAAF World Relays and World Cross Country Championships is set to create quite a stir in KZN when the men’s 10000m, women’s 5000m, men’s 100m and men/women 400m races commences on Tuesday evening. A men’s 1500m was also included in the pre-programme to ensure extra drama as the middle-distance stars are eager to qualify for this year’s IAAF World Championships in London.

The four-leg series will make its way to Bloemfontein on March 8, Potchefstroom on March 15 and Germiston on March 22; thus indicating the long-distance stars’ only opportunity to run very fast times is in Durban! So will we see fast times from them? Or is it still a bit too early in the season? It is a bit early to expect extremely fast times, but with athletes like Dumisane Hlaselo, Elroy Gelant and Jerry Motsau, we can expect faster, if not world championships qualifying, action in Durban.

It’s a great venue that accommodates both long distance runners and sprinters and if things go according to plan, we might witness the first South African legal sub-10sec 100m on the coast. It is well within the reach of the South African sprinters as last year’s African Senior Athletics Championships 100m men’s race was won in sub-10sec whilst the first women ran a blistering fast sub 11sec! And after Thando Roto’s special first sub 10sec 100m this past weekend, we are in for a treat.

The federation has been hard at work to give platforms to the country’s goldmine of athletes and what better way to start off the year! We look forward to a great evening filled with explosive and fast athletics.

10 000m  Senior Men
1  Thabang Mosiako NEDBANK
2  David Manja NEDBANK
3  Phillimon Mathiba NEDBANK
4  Precius Mashele
5  Joel Mmone NEDBANK
6  Vuyisile Tshoba
7  Elroy Gelant  BOXER
8  Collen Mulaudzi
9  Namakoe Nkhasi NEDBANK
10  Daisy Mabalane
11  Kabelo Seboko
12  Ryan Mphahlele
13  Thabo Masina
14  Kutlwisiso Sidinile
15            Sello Pheleu
16  Tumelo Motlagale  BOXER

5000m  Senior Women
1  Kesa Molotsane  KOFSIES
2  Louisa Leballo  NEDBANK
3  Sherilene Gelderblom
4  Glenrose Xaba
5  Lebogang Phalula  BOXER
6  Lena Lotter
7  Andrea Steyn
8  Maria Shai  NEDBANK
9  Irvette Van Zyl  NEDBANK
10  Nicole Louw  KPMG
11  Simoney Weitsz KPMG
12  Lindi Roelofse
13  Nicole Van der Merve  KPMG
14  Yandiswa Shange  KPMG
15  Lesego Mpshe KPMG
16  Thobile Vilakazi  KPMG

400m Senior Women
3  Zoe Engler FAST FEET
4  Amy Naude  FAST FEET
5  Gena Lofstrand  FAST FEET

400m  Senior Men
3  Ranti Dikgale EC
4  Ashley Hlungwane TUKS
5  Thapelo Phora TUKS
6  Zakithi Nene  FAST FEET

200m Senior Women
2  Shanice Marnce  FAST FEET
3  Cassidy Williamson  FAST FEET

100m Senior Men

3  Anaso Jobodwana NIKE
4  Akani Simbine  TUKS
6  Ntokozo Ngezi  FAST FEET
7  Itumeleng Lesuthu   FAST FEET

Pre Program 1500m Men
1  Dumisang Hlaselo
2   Clinton Swanepoel
3  Thabang Matiwane
4  Bruce- Lynn Damons
5  Jerry Motsao
6  folavio Sehohle