Tlou Seloba took bronze in the 2015 Classic Shootout with a time of 2:22.81 and the "The Mighty Elephant" will look to make it gold this time round whilst Siyabonga Treasure Derison took silver in the 2016 version with a time of 2:22.62 after grabbing that bronze in the 2000m  Classic Shootout so he is no stranger of medaling at these meets.





Theodore Nothling the twice defending and champion holder at 2:21.86 and 2:21.97 will line up in race 2 to try and win his 3rd in a row 1000m Shootout. Together with him will be 2016 bronze medalist Hannes Naude at 2:23.10 who recently ran a very solid 1:49 on the 800m in Potchefstroom.